An important announcement from the founder of property-bee.com: The future of Property Bee is assured.

Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Support, questions and ideas about the property-bee toolbar

Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Postby phil_phister on Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:03 pm

Hi

Will the toolbar still work with FF v57? This article https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/11/1 ... irefox_57/ says that FF v57 stops all legacy extensions from working.

Thanks
phil_phister
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 7:22 pm

Re: Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Postby russ996 on Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:00 pm

phil_phister wrote:Hi

Will the toolbar still work with FF v57? This article https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/11/1 ... irefox_57/ says that FF v57 stops all legacy extensions from working.

Thanks



It doesnt seem to.

Will there be an update to fix this?
russ996
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 10:11 am

Re: Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Postby yydelilah on Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:16 pm

No - upgrading to Firefox 57 deletes Property Bee addon and the new release won't allow "legacy" ones to install. It needs an upgrade to the new API.
yydelilah
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:55 am

Re: Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Postby siddhant4u on Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:13 pm

When can we expect update to support latest Firefox? Mine got auto-updated and I can't track property prices. I'm in need of the tool specially when prices are going down everywhere..
siddhant4u
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Postby eggbaconandbubble on Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:54 am

The irony is that I originally switched to Firefox so I could use property-bee!
eggbaconandbubble
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 7:46 am

Re: Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Postby dezg21 on Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:19 pm

The older Firefox releases can be found at https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/ for anyone that's looking to downgrade
dezg21
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 8:15 pm

Re: Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Postby horza on Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:53 am

I'm assuming others may have done so but I have emailed info@nethouseprices.com to make sure they know we want/need and update.

I would encourage others to do so to keep some pressure on.

i don't think they check these boards much, if at all.

H
horza
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Postby horza on Mon Nov 20, 2017 6:24 pm

Reply from Nethouseprices

Thanks for your email. Property Bee will unfortunately not work with the new firefox version 57 and there are no plans to upgrade it to work with version 57, so in order to keep using property bee then it will need to be used with firefox version 56 or below.

It can be downloaded from this website: https://www.firefox-usb.com/

I hope this helps.

Regards

Luise
www.nethouseprices.com
Admin.
horza
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:23 pm

Re: Firefox 57 & Property Bee

Postby Heddois on Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:22 am

Alternatively, I found this site below which, contrary to what the URL suggests, still offers the main Firefox 56 browser in *various* OS not just Windows:
https://www.softexia.com/windows/web-br ... firefox-56

1. Install and then quickly (temporarily) disable your wifi before Firefox can auto-update to v57.
2. Then go into Firefox's Preferences and change to 'Never Update'.
3. Turn your wifi back on.
4. Then reinstall Property Bee as normal and it works for me (Mac version).

Of course you have to live with the potential security risks of having a non-up to date browser on your system. Offset this by only using Firefox 56 for Rightmove and Property Bee but nothing else. Do all your other web browsing in another browser which you then keep up to date with all the usual security and version updates.
Heddois
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:16 pm


Return to Support and Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron